First Post!

This is my first post on this blog, and I am envisioning a glorious website filled with equal amounts of semi-legitimate recipes and derpy fly-by-the-seats-of-my-pants cooking.

A little bit about me: I’m Taiwanese. I grew up literally across the street from a night-market, and was never more than 10-minutes walk away from food that was pretty damn amazing.

While I enjoyed goofing off with my classmates in high school cooking classes, and also enjoyed the occasional whimsical culinary experiment conducted at home, I was always comforted by the fact that if everything turned into a pile of smoking ashes or purple goop, a cheap legit meal would be within 10-minutes walking distance.

…I probably just destroyed any credibility I might have had in writing this recipe blog.

But wait: I’ve been living overseas for two years now. With the help of recipes and memories of what food-from-the-motherland tastes like, I’ve been experimenting and developing survival skills!

I swear, I’ve only set off a kitchen fire alarm once.

Okay, before I scare everyone away, and receive a restraining order because of my hazardous culinary antics, here is the recipe that inspired the creation of this blog:  Basil Eggplant

Leave a Reply

